Day 17 on 3 Weeks to Wonderful

29 Jan

What do you think these three life milestone’s have in common?

3 Weeks to Wonderful logo

3 Weeks to Wonderful logo

  • Having children
  • Getting divorced
  • Starting 3 Weeks to Wonderful

I’ll tell you…

All of these moments have been major turning points in my life.  All seemed to have been decisions that I had made spontaneously, on a whim without enough forethought.

You often hear people saying that “if they knew then what they know now….” which usually implies that they would never have gone ahead.  But the very fact that we do go ahead is because deep down we know that no matter what lies ahead, it will ultimately be for the greater good.

I knew for years and years that I wanted to have children – in fact, I knew I wanted 2 children.  This has been the biggest challenge in my life as well as the most important and valued decision I have ever made.  I would be lying if I said it has been a breeze – quite the contrary.  I suffered with post natal depression after the birth of my daughter and separated from my ex husband when my daughter was 3 and my son was 1.  Hard work and discipline has been the order of the day and it has resulted in a beautiful family of 3! I love my children more than I ever believed possible and cannot begin to express my gratitude for these two precious lives.

Similarly, although many of my friends and family were surprised when I asked for a divorce, the thinking process leading up to the event had been going on in my mind for years.  In this instance I also never thought too deeply about how difficult the road ahead would be, but rather focused on the outcome.  Divorce can never be easy, and mine was painful and hard, but ranks as one of the best decisions I have made in my life.  I shudder to think what my life would be like had I been to fearful to take on this turning point.

With the 3 Weeks to Wonderful program, I had spent many months chastising myself for not being more active, for eating badly, and for getting so badly out of shape. I knew I wanted to do something, but I did not want to follow a trend or a fad.  I also had hundreds of excuses in my arsenal as to why I could not fit in more exercise or eat better.  After a rough 2013, I realised that I was losing my own identity to being angry and aggressive most of the time.  Suez’s timing was perfect – I saw her post about the launch of the program and knew it was the right time to make my decision.  My head was ready to take it on and I knew the outcome would be worth it.  I also knew that while the program was just a kick in the right direction, it would create habits for me to carry forward into every day life.

If I had given too much thought to costs, time constraints, difficulty etc. I probably would not have committed.  As it turns out, I’ve made the time now for daily exercise and WANT to do it every day.  I have the occasional desire for chocolate or coffee or wine, but don’t feel like I am missing out on anything. Instead I really, really enjoy my salads and healthy foods.  I don’t even feel the need to snack anymore. When I am thirsty, I want water – nothing else (but wine would have gone down a treat last night :))

I do not look like Angelina Jolie, nor do I have Mother Theresa’s disposition, but I am fitting into my clothes far easier, do not snap and scream at every opportunity and generally feel content and positive about life. Not to mention I have achieved my goal of starting to run (I’ve always told myself I could never run distance).

I feel good about where Suez has brought us on this journey and I am grateful for the support and motivation from Suez, the other amazing ladies on the program as well as family and friends here.  If anyone reading this post is undecided about whether or not to take the leap – be like Nike and Just Do IT!  The rewards are far greater than you can imagine.

Today’s breakfast: Rolled oats convenience in a jar

Lunch: Prawn salad

Dinner: To be decided…

One Response to “Day 17 on 3 Weeks to Wonderful”

  1. Maxine Jones January 29, 2014 at 19:11 #

    Well done Jubez – I’m so glad you are still on track and still loving it. As a result of your blog I’ve bought a juicer!!! Can’t wait to hear your results at the end of the 3 weeks.

    Xx

Leave a Reply

